UCB Weekend Through the Eyes of a 1st Timer

This weekend I was blessed with the opportunity to join many of my fellow bloggers and members of the United Cardinal Bloggers at Busch Stadium for a wonderful weekend of baseball. The weekend began with a dinner at J Buck’s downtown on Saturday night where we were treated to great good and I was first introduced to many people I had previously known only through twitter conversations.

Sunday morning we reported to Busch Stadium and the bright and early hour of 11 AM. My fellow bloggers and I were given some time to have a Q&A session with Cardinals’ GM John Mozeliak as well as team president Bill Dewitt III. Mozeliak answered questions ranging from the Oscar Taveras situation, to the Darryl Kile death, and even shared with us a humorous story about Scott Rolen’s departure. After that we were shown to our suite where the stadium chefs accommodated us with more food than one could ever hope to eat.

Overall it was a truly amazing weekend and I feel beyond blessed that I was presented with this opportunity. I can’t say enough for how accommodating the Cardinals organization was for us bloggers. There are some really great people throughout the blogging community, many of whom put in a lot of hard work to make this weekend happen and I can’t thank them enough. It was nice to finally put faces to twitter handles, and if you’re not already I urge you to follow the following people:

  • Dan Buffa  @Buffa82
  • Joe Schwarz @stlcupofjoe
  • Cole Claybourn @highsocks_sunday

Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to meet all the bloggers that I have been in touch with via twitter, and I hope that will change. Again, I commend all those who put in the hard work to make this weekend happen, and the Cardinals for being so accommodating to our band of misfits. It was an experience that I will treasure for a long time, and completely exceeded any expectations I may have had. I hope you all will continue to read and support me along my blogging journey.

Thank you!

It’s not crazy, it’s sports

Leave a Reply

